How I recovered deleted data on external hard drive on Ubuntu 9.04

3rd January  2011

I never thought I will be able to do it, but I did. Giving me tonight a headache and a sleepless night of my life but I succeeded to recover my supposedly deleted files, and recovered most of my files. I am really proud of myself because I am not such a computer genius and most what I do leads more to catastrophe than to something good.But today something went right…

Before 6 months I reformatted my PC with the new version of Ubuntu 9.04 from 8.04. I backed-Up all my files and studies into the external Hard drive transcend in the hope I will transfer it to my new formatted PC.But I didn’t.Instead I formattted the Pc again and made a partition between the windows and the linux system.

Yesterday I wanted to bring all data back and deleted the most important backUp.

After searching for several HOW To’s of Data recovery I found this link
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=387922

It introduces testdisk. Apart from all the other open source programmes that was the most easiest to go through for me as a total newbie in computer issues.
I tried also others like magicrescue, scalpel etc…. It was way too complicated for me.

So as my advice if you use Ubuntu 9.04 and you will ever have this problem of data loss, emptied trash from data as I did. but I would never wish for you this to happen to you.then check out the link. for me it was totally helpful and straight forward.

When exiting you must go backwards so the program testdisk can exit/quit normally.Use arrow keys to cancel selection of partition and move backwards until quit program shows up.

here again the link to testdisk – recovery of lost data files
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=387922

2 thoughts on “How I recovered deleted data on external hard drive on Ubuntu 9.04

  1. Hey there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get
    a captcha plugin for my comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having problems finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

